WMC Marišćina

Marišćina is the first waste management centre built in Croatia.

The centre has been built in compliance with the national regulations and all relevant European directives. The value of the centre is HRK 277 million, it was co-financed from EU funds with 71%, while the remaining amount was provided by the Environmental Protection and Energy Efficiency Fund, the City of Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County, and Ekoplus, the company managing the centre, which took it over as final beneficiary in February 2017. 
CWMC Marišćina is the central part of an integrated waste management system in Primorje-Gorski Kotar County. The centre was built in Viškovo Municipality and is around 14 kilometres away from Rijeka. The project included the construction of transfer stations in Delnice, Novi Vinodolski, Krk, Rab, Cres, and Mali Lošinj.
The Mariščina centre services 300,000 inhabitants in Primorje-Gorski Kotar County. The normal production capacity is designed for 350 t/day up to a maximum of 400 t/day. The centre comprises an MBT plant, the bioreactor landfill, WWT plant, and the infrastructure that includes administrative buildings, two weighbridges, internal roads, etc. The opening of the centre created the precondition for remediation and closure of all landfills in the county.

More information is available at https://www.ekoplus.hr/

In accordance with the bilateral agreement on co-financing the WMC Marišćina project signed by the Republic of Croatia and the European Commission, in 2013 the agreement on the implementation of the project for transfer stations and other waste management facilities in Primorje-Gorski Kotar County was concluded between the Fund, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County and towns: Delnice, Cres, Krk, Novi Vinodolski, Rab and Mali Lošinj, stipulating that for the purpose of establishing an integrated waste management system in Primorje-Gorski Kotar County, until the start of operation of the County Waste Management Centre “Marišćina” transfer stations had to be built in the area of Primorje-Gorski Kotar County, as well as other required waste management facilities parallel with the construction of the centre.

Six transfer stations were built in Primorje-Gorski Kotar County (TS Pržići - Cres, TS Duplja - Novi Vinodolski, TS Sorinj - Rab, TS Treskavac - Krk, TS Kalvarija - Mali Lošinj and TS Sović Laz - Delnice).